Seven Heads, Ten Horns, and the Revived Roman Empire, Pt 2

July 30, 2013 at 12:27 PM

The four "beasts" or empires culminate with the Antichrist.

The four “beasts” or empires culminate with the Antichrist.

Last time, we introduced the subject of Revelation 13:1 – the seven heads and ten horns. If you haven’t read that article, I would recommend it before reading this one.

We spoke of the four empires introduced in Daniel 2. Remember, when these were introduced to Daniel via Nebuchadnezzar, the only one that existed at the time was the Babylonian Empire, headed by Nebuchadnezzar. The others were still off in the future.

However, from the apostle John’s vantage point of Revelation 13, almost everything had come to pass. He could look back in history and see that what God revealed to Nebuchadnezzar, had in fact, transpired. In fact, John was living during the time of the fourth beast, the Roman Empire. The only thing ahead of him that he would not live to see (though he saw it in the vision) is the decay of the Roman Empire, that would eventually be followed by the resurrection of it in the last days with the ten horns and from them, the Antichrist.

I referenced the various incarnations of empires that segued from one to the next in essentially, the same area of the world, starting with the Babylonian Empire. I also briefly discussed the current European Union and how it looks today, along with the idea floated about a Mediterranean Union that has not yet taken shape and may not.

Whatever happens in the future, that portion of the world plays a large role in prophecy, according to the Bible. It is the birthplace of civilization and believed to be where the Garden of Eden existed, the Tower of Babel was started and all of humanity came from that one general area.

What we’re going to do in this article is discuss more of the seven heads and ten horns referenced in Revelation 13. We will also put the current European Union under the microscope, though if we don’t get to that this time out, we’ll get to it next time.

The way I see it, each successive empire beginning with Babylon, rose up and replaced the previous one. However, the newer empire wound up incorporating much of the geography from the previous empire. In that sense then, the newer empire was a reincarnation of the older empire. The Babylonian Empire didn’t really die. It simply morphed into the Medo-Persian Empire. That empire didn’t cease to exist (except in name). It became the Grecian Empire. Finally, after Alexander died, his empire was divided up among his four generals and eventually those four pieces became part and parcel of the Roman Empire.

It is reasonable to conclude then, that the beast that comes out of the sea – with seven heads and four horns – essentially comes from all the previous empires that existed. Here is Revelation 13:1b. “Then I saw a beast coming up out of the sea, having ten horns and seven heads, and on his horns were ten diadems, and on his heads were blasphemous names.” These seven heads really represent the previous four kingdoms of Babylon, Medo-Persian, Grecian, and Roman. Why seven heads?

Each kingdom – Babylon, Medo-Persian and Grecian – had one head each. The Grecian Empire was split into four “heads” (cf. Daniel 7:6 and 8:8). Adding the three heads and the four heads together gives us a grand total of 7. In other words, the previous kingdoms, all told, had 7 heads.

Revelation 13:2a says this about the fourth beast: “And the beast which I saw was like a leopard, and his feet were like those of a bear, and his mouth like the mouth of a lion.” John is referring to the beast that is coming out of the sea with 7 heads and ten horns. The previous statement is simply another verification that all of these beasts (kingdoms) are tied together. The fourth beast has characteristics of each of the previous beasts.

In Daniel 7, the beasts are seen separately. In Daniel 7:7, we read, “After this I kept looking in the night visions, and behold, a fourth beast, dreadful and terrifying and extremely strong; and it had large iron teeth. It devoured and crushed and trampled down the remainder with its feet; and it was different from all the beasts that were before it, and it had ten horns.”

This fourth beast (Roman Empire) was described by Daniel as dreadful, terrifying, and strong. It was different from all the previous beasts and it had ten horns.

The Revelation 13 reference notes that this beast here is a conglomeration of all the beasts and has the ten horns. This beast was different because of its character and composition and also because of the ten horns that come from it.

What is interesting here in Revelation 13 is that just as these 7 heads (in total) come together to form the fourth beast (the fourth beast’s “head” is included in the 7), we need to realize that the ten horns that are also referred to here in Revelation 13 extend from the revived fourth beast. In actuality, all of the beasts together make it possible for the ten horns to extend from this fourth beast.

The ten horns are really an extension of the fourth beast and it is narrowed down into these ten horns. We literally see the ten horns extend from the fourth beast here in Revelation as we watch the beast emerge from the sea. These ten horns represent ten kings (the horns have diadems), which also means they rule over an area of the world.

In Daniel 7:8, we read, “While I was contemplating the horns, behold, another horn, a little one, came up among them, and three of the first horns were pulled out by the roots before it; and behold, this horn possessed eyes like the eyes of a man and a mouth uttering great boasts.”

Out of the ten horns (mentioned in Daniel 7 and Revelation 13), another horn – an eleventh – comes out. Though he is not one of the original ten horns, he turns against three of the horns and kills them (horns were pulled out by the roots). The remaining seven horns give their allegiance to this new horn, which is now also the eighth.

As we continue reading in Revelation 13, we learn more about this 11th horn, who becomes the 8th after rising from among the ten horns.
We will deal more with this 11th horn and will try to get more into the European Union as well in our next part. Join me then!

Entry filed under: Religious - Christian - End Times, Religious - Christian - Prophecy, Religious - Christian - Theology, second coming, Shadow Government. Tags: , .

Seven Heads, Ten Horns, and the Revived Roman Empire One Official Watches Over Another Official, and There Are Higher Officials Over Them

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13,179 other followers

Our Books on Amazon

Study-Grow-Know Archives

Blog Stats

  • 986,013 hits

%d bloggers like this: